The European Smart Grid Task Force defines Smart Grids as electricity networks that can efficiently integrate the behaviour and actions of all users connected to it — generators, consumers and those that do both — in order to ensure an economically efficient, sustainable power system with low losses and high quality and security of supply and safety.

Source : smartgrids task force – European Commission

More than 70 organizations are indexed in smartgrids mapping! These represent many jobs (R&D, financing, manufacturing, distribution, maintenance, training, sensitizing, etc) and include many technological skills.
The vertical value chain, known as the technology value chain, is divided into five major parts :

  • Steering systems
    • EMS : Energy Management System
    • GIS : Geographic Information System
    • DMS : Distribution Management System
    • OMS : Outage Management System
    • WMS : Workload Management System
    • DA : Distribution Automation
    • CEMS : Consumer Energy Management Systems
    • CIS : Customer Information System
  • Control & detection systems
    • SCADA : Supervisory Control And Data Acquisition
    • WASA/WAMS/WAAPCA: Wide-Area Situational Awareness / Wide Area Measurement System / Wide-area adaptive protection, control and automation
    • MDMS : Meter Data Management System
  • Measuring tools
    • PMU : Phasor Measurement Unit
    • Capteurs Compteurs intelligents
  • Energy infrastructure
    • Superconducteurs
    • FACTS : Flexible AC Transmissions Systems
    • HVDC : High Voltage Direct Current
  • Communication infrastructure
    • LAN : Local Area Network
    • WAN : Wide Area Network
    • FAN/AMI : Field Area Network/Advanced Metering Infrastructure
    • CPE : Costumer Premise Equipement
    • HAN : Home Area Network